Huevos Rancheros in El Paso (of course)

I’ve been a bad bad blogger.  Most of this is due to the fact that I have been taking an extremely long time (about 1 month to be exact)  to transport my belongings in my new truck from NYC to Northern California.

I have a little 2 burner propane camp stove courtesy of my father and this is a breakfast I had a particularly scenic location just within the city limits of El Paso, called Franklin Mountains State Park.

The table at breakfast time…

What I’m workin’ with…

There is a certain amount of planning you have to put forth to pull this breakfast off but as soon as you do, it’s worth it.  The first thing I like to do is get some coffee going.  I have a little freench press for when I am traveling that my mother gave me.  I taqke my small pot and start some water heating (enough to make a small french press of coffee and boil the sweet potato).

Camp-Style Huevos Rancheros with Rosemary Sweet Potato Fries

2 sweet potatoes, cut into 1/2 inch fries

2 scallions, sliced thin

1 cup canned kidney beans

1 tsp cumin

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tsp minced fresh rosemary

1 piece thick sliced sourdough bread

1 egg

salt

parsley to garnish

1.  First you want to make your coffee, then with the remaining water add the sweet potato and boil until the sweet potato is tender. Drain the sweet potato.

2.  In a frying pan, heat 2 tablespoons of oil.  Add the sweet potato and the rosemary and let fry until the sweet potato is crispy.

3.  In the same small saucepan from the water, add about 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil, then add the sliced scallions and when they are softened add the kidney beans and cumin.  Season with salt and heat through.  Cover and set aside.

4.  When the sweet potatoes are crisp, place on a napkin to drain and place the slice of sourdough on the pan to crisp.

5.  Removed the browned bread and add a little more oil if necessary.  Add the egg to the skillet.  Remove the egg and assemble the dish with the toast down first, then kidney bean/scallions, then fried egg.  Serve the sweet potato fries on the side.

If you are fancy you can have ketchup but I didn’t bring any on this trip and I find the flavors great without another other condiment.

You can also serve this whole thing on cutting board like I do because I didn’t actually think to bring any dishes with me.  Maybe the entree being served on a cutting board is like the ne3xt hipster serving craze.  It’s basically the next “wine in a ball jar”.   You heard it first here.

 

Leave a Reply

